Helpful links

Occasionally, as I troll the web, I find useful things to help me in my quest for a period document.  Today I found Historical Sewing.  This site is a treasure trove of information, divided into periods but largely focused on the 19th century.  It’s making me think very hard about my choice of an 1850s gown and where in the 1850s to situate it. And there’s a corset book they sell which might prove to be a godsend. The community seems welcoming as well, which is always a boon for a seamstress bogged down in details other people can’t quite understand as being vital.  (Trim is important, people!)  I think I’ve found a new bookmark for this project.

Leave a Reply

